Framework of Hajj al-Tamattu’

The Official Website of Grand Ayatollah Makarem Shirazi

صفحه کاربران ویژه - خروج
ورود کاربران ورود کاربران





LoginComment LoginComment2 LoginComment3 .
Sort by
The Rites of Hajj
Kinds of HajjConditions of Hajj al-Tamattu

Article 23- The synopsis of Hajj al-Tamattu’ is as follows:

1- Umrah al-Tamattu’: Umrah al-Tamattu’ should only performs in months of Hajj (which are Shawwal, Dhu’l-Qa’dah and Dhu’l-Hijjah) and following acts are obligatory in performing that:

   1- Wearing Ihram from Mecca with the intention of Umrah al-Tamattu’.

   2- Seven times of Tawaf of Ka’ba.

   3- Performing two Rak’ats of prayer of Tawaf behind the Maqam (station) of Ibrahim.

   4- Seven times of Sa’y (shuttling) between Safa and Marwah.

   5- Taqsir which means cutting the hair and nail but pilgrim should not suffice to cutting the nail.

And Hajji comes out of Ihram after performing these quintet acts and the things and acts that had been Haraam for him/her because of Ihram, now becomes Halaal.

2- Hajj al-Tamattu’: Hajj al-Tamattu’ consists of following acts:

   1- Wearing Ihram from Mecca.

   2- Wuquf that means staying in Arafat from noon until sunset of the day nine of Dhu’l-Hijjah.

   3- Wuquf in Mash’ar al-Haraam and staying in there from dawn to sunrise of the day of Eid al-Qurban.

   4- Going to Mena (also Mina) and performing Ramy al-Jamarah al-Aqaba (throwing seven pebbles to the place, which is allocated at the end of Mena that is called “al-Jamarah al-Aqaba or al-Jamarah al-Quswa).

   5- Sacrificing in Mena in the day of Eid (tenth of Dhu’l-Hijjah).

   6- Taqsir that means shaving the head or cutting a piece of hair or nail.

   7- Tawaf of Ka’ba (this Tawaf is called Tawaf of pilgrimage).

   8- Performing two Rak’ats of prayer of Tawaf.

   9- Seven times of Sa’y (shuttling) between Safa and Marwah.

When these acts had been performed then fragrance becomes Halaal for the pilgrim.

   10- Performing another Tawaf around Ka’ba (this Tawaf is called Tawaf of Nisa’).

   11- Performing Two Rak’ats of prayer of Tawaf of Nisa’.

By performing these two acts spouse also become Halaal for the pilgrim.

   12- Returning to Mena and spending the eleventh and the twelfth nights (and in some conditions the thirteenth night) in there.

   13- Performing Triple Ramy al-Jamarat (throwing seven pebbles to each of three places, which are situated in Mena) in the eleventh and the twelfth days.

And by performing these acts, the pilgrim can return to Mecca and his/her Hajj is completed.

These were quintet acts of Umrah al-Tamattu’, and thirteen acts of Hajj al-Tamattu’ that their detail will be explained in next discussions.

Framework of Hajj al-Ifrad: Hajj al-Ifrad is similar to Hajj al-Tamattu’ by a difference that there is Qurban (sacrifice) in Hajj al-Tamattu’ but it is not performed in Hajj al-Ifrad, but it is Mustahab to do and Umrah is performed after Hajj unlike Umrah al-Tamattu’ that is performed before that, and we abstain from explaining Hajj al-Qiran because it is not performed in these days.




Kinds of HajjConditions of Hajj al-Tamattu